custard69

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2010
ive just built my first pc, but it keeps freezing up on me, i havent got a clue why it is doing this i just hope someone can help.

system specs:

q9450 2.83 ghz quad core
msi p7n platinum mobo
ocz sli 4gb ddr2 800mhz
8800gt 512mb gpu
ocz sli 700w psu
antec 900 case
1 tb hdd
standard intel heatsink
blu ray rom drive

System freezing problems are most commonly caused by either RAM problems or overheating. Which exact RAM kit do you have? Did you manually set the RAM speed/timings/voltage to the specs listed on the sticker on the RAM? Have you run Memtest86+ overnight to test for RAM errors?

What are your idle/load CPU temps?

custard69

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2010
im using ocz high performance sli ddr2 , ive not touched any of the timings/voltages as i am not really sure what im doing with that, with temps when i go into the bios it says that cpu is roughly 35 C.
this is going to sound stupid but a memtest86?? what is that, im totally new to all this building stuff but you ave to start somewhere

custard69

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2010

im using ocz high performance sli ddr2 , ive not touched any of the timings/voltages as i am not really sure what im doing with that, with temps when i go into the bios it says that cpu is roughly 35 C.
this is going to sound stupid but a memtest86?? what is that, im totally new to all this building stuff but you ave to start somewhere, im also running widows 7 64bit

Memtest86+ is a piece of software that tests for RAM errors. You download an ISO image from www.memtest.org and burn it to a CD. You can then boot from the CD and the test starts on its own. You should let it run for multiple hours to fully test the RAM.

custard69

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2010