Newb HTPC question

spavek

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2007
I am new to the HTPC building so I probably have a huge newb question. I want to build an HTPC but am slightly confused on the use of a TV Tuner.

From what I understand the TV Tuner is used to have cable TV streamed through the tuner to the PC, mainly for recording. Am I correct on that?

And I want to build an HTPC but mainly for an archive type system where I can back up all of my movies so I'm not lugging around over 600 dvds every time I move. Will I need a TV tuner for this, or just a decent video card?

Thanks in advance.

Solution
A TV tuner allows you to tune in, watch and / or record TV channels from cable OR from an OTA station via an antenna. The better ones have two or more tuners operating independently so you can record one channel while watching another. Many also include input ports so you can watch / record video and audio signals from an external player like a DVD or VCR unit. Some also have audio / video outputs like S-Video or NTSC Composite video, but these are more likely to be a video card feature if you need them.

If you go for multi-tuner capability, read the fine print. Some have two tuners that each are fully capable and share one cable TV input connection. Some have two tuners that each have different capabilities, so that only one can...

False_Dmitry_II

Distinguished
Oh. If that were me I'd have ended up just leaving them in the boxes.

If you're building from scratch I'd suggest an AM3 mobo with HD 3300 integrated graphics (since this is even enough for bluray) and an athlon II x2. You don't need a tuner unless you want to record. You probably want at least a 1.5 terabyte hard drive for that kind of a load. (maybe even two for raid 1, so that if one of them fails you don't have to rip twice)

I don't know what formats/methods you prefer, so just go to videohelp.com and research.

Paperdoc

Polypheme
Ambassador