Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Photoshop - nVidia vs Radeon?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
January 9, 2010 7:07:05 PM

Hi,

I am developing my build specs for my next PC, which I'll get when Photoshop CS5 is released. I will be running it on a i7 920/975 (or successor) CPU with 12 GB of RAM in 64-bit OS. I have a 1920x1200 monitor. I'm also going to be running Windows and Photoshop off an SSD.

Basically I can't decide on the graphics card. I am a pro-level hobbyist with a full-frame camera, and some of my edits involve stitched panoramics that exceed 20,000x10,000 in dimensions, taking up 400 MB in a TIFF file. I know Photoshop doesn't require 3D capabilities, but I want to be able to optimize the performance.

Adobe seems to favor nVidia, especially for some of the CS4 features involving GPU usage, but Radeon seems to have the technological edge lately. I will be doing light consumer-level HD video editing, so I want that capability as well, but it's really Photoshop CS5 that will drive my selection. I won't be gaming at all.

So - for those that are knowledgeable on both GPUs and Photoshop technical requirements - what do you think? Radeon or nVidia? Something like the Radeon 5770? Or the GTX 285? Does the choice of platform itself between Radeon and nVidia matter at all, if tech specs are otherwise identical?

This is the last piece I've been struggling with... thanks!
a b U Graphics card
January 9, 2010 7:11:58 PM

1. Get the i7 920. If you want a higher end i7, wait for the 6 core i7 980 to come out...don't get the expensive 4 core i7s.

2. At the moment, ATI Radeon has an advantage.
The 5770 is equal to a 4870, equal to a GTX260. ATI's equivalent of a GTX285 is a 5850, and the 5850 performs 15% better

If your budget is ~$300, get a 5850. If it's around $150, get a 5770.

You'll have to look up benchmarks for both for CS5 online.
Score
a c 232 U Graphics card
a c 83 Î Nvidia
January 9, 2010 7:47:54 PM

CS4/5 doesn't need much