Sign in with
Your question

Laptop GPU overheats too much when plugged in

Last response: in Overclocking
August 24, 2012 6:35:13 PM

Kindly go easy on me with some terms since im a newb. :na: 

i currently have 2 laptops, Gateway FX-P79 & Toshiba Satellite M645. the fx-p79 has a gpu nvidia geforce gtx 260m while the m645 shows it has an intel(r) hd graphics family and an nvidia geforce gt 525m.

my problem is that the gpu of the fx-p79 which is a gaming laptop, overheats whenever i play high graphics games specifically diablo 3, battlefield 3 and dotA 2, i already cleaned the vents and added a cooling fan but what happened was it just slowed down the process of the heat building up on the gpu. the gpu heats up to 100º and continues to go up.

im getting the same issue as per the m645 but what's bugging me is that the m645 detects 2 gpu and using gpu-z, the temp of the hd graphics family is the one overheating up to 100º when playing battlefield 3 or dota 2. but when i check the geforce gt 525m, its temp just goes around 80-90 when loaded.

whats confusing is that when i'm on battery mode and tried to play those games, the temps stay around 70-75º although the fps drops but still is playable and smooth. someone told me that the gpu overclocks itself thats why it overheats?

i hope someone can help me out on how to solve this.
September 4, 2012 2:28:11 AM

i dont know too much about laptops besides that they overheat like crazy because of the bad ventillation in them, the temps are high with the charger plugged in because the battery is getting power. what i suggest is you get a laptop cooler, but a good one from a reliable brand with multiple fans to cool your entire computer, temps above 80C is sort of bad for the computer and you want to stay under 75C really. try to look for some coolers on newegg that have a lot of reviews and dont get a cheap one because you'll probably get cheap performance
September 4, 2012 2:30:15 AM