Sign in with
Your question

$1800 firm Budget

Last response: in Systems
January 15, 2010 7:42:05 PM

I used to be an avid system builder 6+ years ago. Unfortunately I am not as up on current market and trends when it comes to building a system.

The main question I have for everyone is this. With limited 1800 budget for a "complete" system including Monitor would I be better off buying a prebuilt Dell, HP, etc and upgrade it to meet my wants or needs.

Last computer I had was an HP m8100n that I wound up sticking 6gigs of ram in and upgraded the video card twice most recently to a gts 250 1gig. However I'm moving and leaving the current system for a friend who needs a computer.

So should I buy a nice prebuilt and upgrade or build from scratch with my limited budget.

I know you guys will ask what will I be doing so I'll lay out my wants/needs

I'm semi avid gamer. I play WoW quite often. I'm playing other misc games like Dragon Age, Bioshock etc. I wouldn't classify myself a Hardcore gamer but it's definitely something to factor in for my system.

Computer will also be used for home based business. Running numerous Adobe products. Photoshop, Dreamweaver etc.

As I'll be living in very small apt making my computer my "Media center" would also be a cost saving bonus. So I could watch Movies TV etc from computer.

My question with making it media center is do I go for an HDTV monitor like a Samsung T220hd or just get a nice 22"-24" monitor and add a TV card to the system.

Bottom Line i'm looking for absolute best bang for my buck. I'd also like the system to be upgradeable.. so when I have more cash I can drop components into the system rather than buying whole new computer.

Thanks for your input and advice.