I7 920 Build - Feedback Request

Mr_E

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2009
Any suggestions for improvements would be great!

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: The next week, hopefully.

BUDGET RANGE W/O MONITOR: $1500 +/- 10% including shipping, before rebates (rebates can be unreliable, therefore I don’t count them until I’m depositing the refund.)

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: I’m an engineering student first and foremost, therefore related software (MATLAB, Simulink, Maple, SoildWorks, Ansys-finite element analysis), word processing; I’d like to be able to relax and play some of the modern games, surf the internet, and a platform to pursue my quest for world domination.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: keyboard, mouse, speakers, OS

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: newegg, tigerdirect – I’d like to be able to use the 12 months same as cash, so I guess mainly Newegg (unless there is some part Tigerdirect hugely undercuts in price.)
COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: United States

PARTS PREFERENCES: Intel CPU, the reset as long as they are reputable, reliable and offer decent customer service*

OVERCLOCKING: Yes, likely processor only.

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Maybe, in the future (I’ve selected a PSU for the ‘just in case.’

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920x1080 (monitor is listed below parts)

*ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Being my first build, I will likely need help from manufactures, forums and any soul willing to help if something doesn’t work. Therefore, I've stuck with name brands, mostly retails versions as I wll need manuals for assembly.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Parts and prices as of 01-17-2010

Here is the build that I have prepared thus far. Virtually every part choose was based on ratings at Newegg, suggestions found here at Tom's or by way of links to other reputable review sites. Feedback on any components or alternative builds is welcome.