Need advice to build system for virtualisation purose

johnsmith2020

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2010
Hi, I am a student and learning MCSA course.
I have a laptop with Core2duo 2Ghz with 2 gb ram. When I use virtual machines on it it gets hot and end up with Blue screen error. So I have decided to build custom desktop.
I want to use it mostly for Virtualisation and Gaming purpose.
I have read that AMD processors are good in Virtualisation and Gaming. So I want to build system having AMD Quad core or any other high end processor with 4 or 8 gb DDR3 RAM with good graphics card and with 1TB harddrive.
Pls advise the good configuration which suits my needs. I don't have good knowledge about hardware.
Thanks in advance

Solution
i7 920
Mobo - MSI X58 Pro-E
ASRock X58 Extreme
You can add 12GB of RAM to these mobos...

Gigabyte GA-EX58UD3R - But this just supports 6GB of RAM...though you can add more RAM but populating the 4th slot will make you loose Tri- Channel config...

And if you wont be overclocking more than 3GHz, then you wont need to add any aftermarket CPU cooler...

johnsmith2020

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2010
Below are the details

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: This month

BUDGET RANGE: $450-600 (20,000 Rs.- 25,000Rs. Rs.=Rupees is currency in India), Budget can be extended

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Most important application VMware, virtualbox and high graphics Games to least important web-surfing

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: keyboard, mouse, speakers,

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: INDIA

PARTS PREFERENCES: processor which have best performance in area of virtualisation and highend graphics, DDR3 RAM, 1 TB harddisk

OVERCLOCKING: may be required

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1600x1200 or 1920x1200

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Required other things to keep system stable for high performance like battery backup, cooling system.

johnsmith2020

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2010