Gaming PC Build help

Destroyed12

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2010
Hi All

I am new to the forum and it seems like a good community. I am new to the whole 'build your own system thing' and U have a budget of around £600-800 and I would like it to be able to play most Games on at least 'High' settings. (Lets take Crysis for example) I want it to have the capability to use use a HDMI cable as I will use that for the input. The other things I would need are listed below:

Quiet
Not to Overheat
At least 6gb RAM
1TB Hard-Drive
Blu ray Reader with DVD RW
At least 1GB Graphics Card (Preferably a ATI)
HDMI Cable Port

I understand, as being a new member you may not want to do this for me, but It would be very much appreciated.

So really, its a HD gaming Pc with alot of memory and a large size Hard Drive, can play all games thrown at it and with a blu ray reader..

Will not need an OS as I already have one prepared..

Thanks in advance..

Might want to refer to the thread in my signature. You'll probably get more responses if you format that way. Do you need a monitor? If not, we need the resolution you're playing on.

I'm going to use US prices, so feel free to find the parts and let me know if it's over/under budget.

CPU: Phenom II X4 955 $165
Mobo: Asus M4A79XTD EVO $110
RAM: Cheapest 1600 mhz CAS Latency 7 (Timings 7-7-7-x) 2x2 GB kit $115
PSU: 750W Corsair, Antec Earthwatts, OCZ, Seasonic, or FSP. Whatever's cheapest. $100
Case: HAF 922 $100
HDD: Samsung Spinpoint F3 1 TB $90
Optical: $130 for BluRay reader with a DVD burner separate
GPU: HD 5850 $300

Total is $1,110 USD. [strike]Using a straight conversion, that's 770 euros.[/strike] Totally thought that was in euros, not pounds...

I know you said 6 GB of RAM, but anything over 4 is useless in gaming. Also, it would be 8 GB, unless you were looking to get an i7-920, which isn't going to happen on that budget.

djg9205

Distinguished
Jan 8, 2010