Overclocking an FX-4100

so i got an FX-4100 black edition which i want to OC.
since i'v spend enough money on my rig, i want to OC to 4.6 so i wont have to buy a new cooler, and i'v heard it's really easy.
so pretty much all i need to know is the ups and downs. i mean sure, the performance will increase, but what will i lose from OC? also i would like to know how... i am a noob at everything that hardware so every help will come in handy. also i have a ga-880gm-d2h motherboard if it has anything to do with it. thanks for the replies! :D
18 answers Last reply
More about overclocking 4100
  1. The FX CPUs don't have Black Editions. They are all unlocked.

Also, for 4.6GHz, you might be better off with a new cooler. I know that you might get there even with the stock cooler, but it will probably be loud and/or not exceptionally cool.

You lose a lot of power efficiency from overclocking and if you do it improperly, you can also lose stability. If you somehow manage to really botch it (not easy to do unless you try to), then you might also cause damage to some hardware components, but there are many fail-safe features to prevent that.
  2. look i dont think you should OC becuse you alredy have a good pc preformance and you cant know what will happen if you OC like your coller is dont strong egnogh to hold the heat.
    i think you should try litle OC for the start and then litle bit more every time or switch coller if you have money for that.
  3. thanks! but are you sure my CPU will over-heat? because some people say that the stock fan will handle it. also what do you mean by loud? it is after all a gas fan... doesn't that make it quitter? also what clock speed wont make it overheat? and as for the good performance, right now the FX competes with the i3. when OC'd this CPU come pretty close to some of the best i5 and the AMD's six cores CPU, so i think it kinda worth it. thanks for the quick reply!
  4. rollerball398 said: