Sign in with
Your question

Programming PC

Last response: in Systems
January 19, 2010 1:22:24 AM

Hi,

I’m not a gamer person, I’m into web development/design… I guess this is heavy on the processor instead of the graphic cards, am I correct? I'm still using my old-pc P4 with 1G of RAM, 128 graphics card and 150G HDD. I'm a noob about building a new pc specifically pc's for programming (if there is one).

I also use VMWare (multiple OS) heavily and most of the time my pc hangs because of this but I need that VM.

In my case, can I get myself a new build under $600-$700? Powerful enough that I could do programming stuffs, movie/picture edits and running multiple OS (only two) at the same time?

I was thinking in getting an Intel processor, like my old-pc, but yet again, I don't know what's next. And one thing, I will use Windows 7 and used Microsoft technologies, does adding more RAM helps?

I hope you guys could recommend the right programming pc for me! :) 

-imperialx

More about : programming

a b B Homebuilt system
January 19, 2010 5:52:20 AM

Look at the sticky for detailing a new build. That way people can use specific numbers and know how much exactly they can use. Oh and give a deadset number for the budget. I've seen plenty of times where people say a number because they're expecting it to be super-expensive when a fairly good (would blow what you've got out of the water) AMD CPU/mobo/RAM could be gotten for about $300. And then people hand them builds with the super high number they said.

In this particular case though, you've said 1. You want an intel and I can tell that 2. You don't upgrade often. I personally don't like the i5 socket specifically because it really isn't upgrader friendly. In this case that doesn't matter since you'll probably wait a similar amount of time again. As such I recommend a i5 build with, say a 4670 GPU (more GPU than you need, but you really don't want to use intel integrated, that stuff is terrible), and 4 gigs of RAM.