3d Rendering/Gaming machine (budget $3000)

ladiesngentlemen

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2010
APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: January 22 preferably.
BUDGET RANGE: $3000us before Rebates

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: 3d rendering (Mental Ray/Renderman), Adobe CS4, Gaming.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Windows 7 pro 64bit

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: tigerdirect.com -- has some pretty awesome prices, but I'll order from any reliable/cheap source.

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: USA, Los Angeles

PARTS PREFERENCES: Intel

OVERCLOCKING: Yes SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Maybe

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920x1200

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I've been doing digital animation for about 10 years now. My mode of thought was always to purchase a computer for high-end gaming (since I love games) and use it for work as well. This worked well until I started getting interested in heavy Lighting & Rendering (Mental Ray and Renderman for example).

I'd like to build a system that will be able to speed up renders and also play modern games at high resolutions. My main dilemma has been the video card, since I know the Quadro and the Geforces are both great, but meant for different things.
Also, a friend of mine just bought an awesome 8core system for rendering for a little under $3000. I'm not sure how it will run games, but I will post his specs below as a starting point.

I have recently bought a Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower Black Case for $139.99 for another computer. And I must say that I am very pleased with it. So I'm thinking of buying another one for the new build. (http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4146085&Sku=C283-1187)

I have another friend who will put everything together and over clock the sucker once I have all the parts. My knowledge is a bit limited however.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Below are the specs from my friends computer: