Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Suggestions on Graphics Card needed for 3 monitor setup

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
January 13, 2010 3:05:37 AM

I have an HP xw6400 workstation running Windows XP. Currently there is an Nvidia Quadro
NVS 285 128mb card installed, that I run a splitter out of so that I can have dual monitors setup.
I would like to keep my dual monitor setup, but also have an HDMI output as well in order to send video to an LCD TV (mainly
to watch Slingplayer). I'm no expert on PC's so I'm not sure what would work. I do not do any gaming, I only use the PC for normal web surfing,
MS Office stuff and emailing. Ideally, I'd like to keep the dual monitors (HP1955's) for the email/web stuff, and use the LCD for displaying video/TV either through Slingplayer or off the web (like Hulu). The PC has an Intel Xeon CPU 5110 @ 1.60 GHz and 2GB of RAM.

I guess in short my questions are:
1. Is this setup possible (basically 3 outputs/monitors)?
2. Does this PC have sufficient resources to do this?
3. What card would be best for this since there isn't a need for gaming requirements?

Any help would be appreciated.
a c 376 U Graphics card
January 13, 2010 3:26:29 AM

Does your motherboard have 2 PCI-E slots?
m
l
a b U Graphics card
January 13, 2010 3:37:41 AM

A quick google search of "HP xw6400 motherboard" apparently shows your motherboard has 2 pcie slots so the easyest thing to do is put another low powered card (mostlikely an nvidia because you already have a quadro) to gain an additional 2 putputs, however you might have to upgrade your psu in order to handle the new load.

There are a hand full of other options you could also choose to gain 3 monitor support.
like replacing your quadro with a hd 5750 that supports 3 montiors, however the 3rd monitor has to be a displayport input or youll have to buy an additional $100 converter.
m
l
Related resources
a c 376 U Graphics card
January 13, 2010 4:28:19 AM