Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Fast scratch disk?

Last response: in Systems
January 19, 2010 4:35:24 PM

Hello experts.

This is my first build and would love some clarification on speed and storage configurations.
I use my computer exclusively for adobe apps, mostly premiere (DV and HDV) and photoshop, with some ae in there to ice the cake.
I have obsessively read everything recent on raids and storage configurations and am more confused than when I first started with the idea that a simple 2 disk raid 0 for storage and scratch would give me the performance boost I was looking for.

Here are the ingredients:

i7920
p6t
6gb cheap patriot 'viper' ram (9-9-9-24)
4x 500gb wd caviar black (32mb)
1x 500gb Hitachi (16mb)
1x 120gb seagate (8mb)
windows 7 64bit
9500gt
OCZ modx 600W

Here are my questions.

1. Adobe recommends separate disks for each element of the project - what will be best served by a raid0 - scratch or storage? I'm not so concerned with redundancy.

2. Will the motherboard raid (intel and jmicron) be useful or do I need a hardware controller?

3. Should the OS/app disk be a priority (16mb vs 32mb cache)?

4. Will the scracth be fine on it's own separate disk?

5. Should I forget about raid and just get more ram?

Thanks so much for the time.

Greg

More about : fast scratch disk

Best solution

January 19, 2010 4:56:39 PM

Here are some answers to your questions for you to consider:

1. Adobe recommends separate disks for each element of the project - what will be best served by a raid0 - scratch or storage? I'm not so concerned with redundancy.

You should consider scrapping Raid 0 because it is not that much faster, and doubles the probability of disk failure with loss of data. Just get some fast hard drives like the Samsung F3 HDD:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
The WD Caviar Blacks are OK, but not quite as fast.

2. Will the motherboard raid (intel and jmicron) be useful or do I need a hardware controller?