kieran101

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2010
hi guys, first time building a complete gaming system and pretty much have most of it covered. just thought i'd throw it up here to see what your opinions are, i'd love to hear em.
I plan to oc the 920 to 4Ghz, and its gonna be air cooled btw, as i have little experience with watercooling. hopefully i will try it down the line but for now i will just cover the case with fans ;).

Mobo: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2, X58
CPU: Intel i7 920 W/ Cooler Master V8 CPU Cooler
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 5870
RAM: Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600MHz 6GB Kit
PSU: Corsair HX 850W
SoundCard: Creative SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer
HD: Samsung SpinPoint F3 1TB SATA2 32MB 7200RPM
HD2: Intel® X25-M SSD 80GB
DVD Sony DVD±RW burner DRU-870S (something cheap for time being, will buy blu-ray later)
Case: Cosmos S

thanks for your time!

foolycooly

Distinguished
Dec 26, 2008
Looks pretty good Kieran. A couple of suggestions:

I would ditch the dominator GT ram for a cheaper set. G.skill makes a few great sets that will match the CAS latency and speed of the Corsair for much cheaper. If you want to stick with corsair, check out this set with the same specs as the dominators:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145236

Unless you're a big audiophile you probably won't need the soundcard. The onboard sound on today's mobos is outstanding (I can personally vouch for the P6T V2 with updated drivers)

On that note, I can confidently recommend the P6T V2. I easily reached 3.8ghz stable on my 920 with little effort and low voltage. However, ASUS has recently released a new board that has good future-proofing features like SATA 6 and USB 3.0. It also has support for intel's upcoming newer processors. Just food for thought.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131614

kieran101

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2010
appreciate the reply Foolycooly, im really lookin forward to piecing all this stuff together!