Sign in with
Your question

Motherboard ***-up

Last response: in Motherboards
August 17, 2010 8:31:12 PM

Hello guys, hardware noob here.
I got this new fancy motherboard, GA-890XA-UD3, along with some other parts.
At first, things seemed ok, but then I messed around with the hard drives and something fucked up.
Now my keyboard or mouse don't get power.
If you need more info, read on, but my question is Is there a way to reset a motherboard to factory default?

So here's what I did:
I got two hard drives, both 250gb (though one is only Sata1.5)
I'm using the hard drives from the old computer, which I never formated (I should've, thinking of the aftermath, but I didn't think it'd be such a pain in my neck)
Installing stuff worked fine until I realized it was trying to install windows on the slower, sata1.5 hard drive.
Naturally I rewired them so that the faster one - the one with my old OS installed on - would be in the first sata socket.
When I booted the computer, it tried to run the windows that was already installed (instead of running the boot-cd that was inside). Needless to say, it failed, and got a bluescreen a few moments after the loading screen.
After that I rewired the drives back so that I could atempt to format the drive with windows on.
Worked fine, except for one detail: My keyboard or mouse won't work in any of the usb ports.

I have a theory that when the computer tried to boot windows, it shut off the power to all external devices (usbs etc), and before it could turn them back on it failed and had a bluescreen.
I think this could be solved by reseting the motherboard to factory defaults.
Problem is I don't know how.

More about : motherboard

a c 717 V Motherboard
August 17, 2010 9:28:48 PM

There are a couple of ways to Default the Bios: 1. Restart enter BIOS [Delete] key, scroll over to "Load Optimized Settings", Save & Exit = Y, 2. Clear CMOS