Sign in with
Your question

Major Problem New Build

Last response: in Systems
January 20, 2010 6:08:42 PM

Hey all this is my first time building a computer and i have ran into a massive issue and i was wondering if anyone could help me? I got it up and running and the temps shown are really good ect. but for some reason when i try to play any game, like say Bioshock, Crysis, it runs at it feels like 5fps and is completely unplayable, even at the lowest graphics and vsync turned off ect. I can play youtube video's and other random stuff fine, theres only 1 game ive been able to play is left for dead 1 so far. I dont know what to do, i dont think its the graphics card or a over heating issue since all the temps are at: 28c system 31 cpu ect.

I tried unplugging all my usb cables thinking maybe it was something with that but still no help :( . I tried updating my drivers to the newest as well on the graphics card. I built the computer to game but cant do that, any help would be greatly appreciated!

-nate

specs:
EVGA x58 sli Classified Motherboard
Intel i7 950 Processor
Windows 7 64bit Ultimate Edition
ATI Radeon 5870 GPU
X-FI Fatality Champion Sound card
WD VelociRaptor 300gb HD
V8 Coolermaster CPU Cooler
1200w Thermaltake PSU
Sony Optiarc CD/DVD RW drive

More about : major problem build

January 20, 2010 8:30:35 PM

You can just try to reinstall the gpu drives. When I first installed my 5850, I had installed on my pc catalyst 9.11 . When I installed it I just downloaded the latest drives from amd.com (9.12) still the one that is there today, but I had low fps and when opening a game it wouldn't show the presentation of the game or something it would just show color square for like 2 minutes and go directly to the game with low fps, so what I did was

1. uninstall all your drivers - reboot
2. Run Driver Sweeper 2.1.0 in Admin mode and sweep everything ATI - reboot
3. Delete all AMD and ATI folders from your Operating system