Yet another help me select a MOBO question

bktanner

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2010
I am looking for suggestions for a good gaming motherboard.

I know a lot about computers and such, but have never built a system completely on my own. I have read and understand a lot about the hardware I am looking at purchasing, but know almost nothing about what brands / models of motherboards are the best around for gaming.

The requirements:

CPU: i5 760 (LGA 1156)
Would prefer ATX, as I will be building a midsized tower (haven't started looking at these either)
Will be running 2 x Geforce GTX 460s in SLI
Probably going for DDR 1600 RAM, not sure yet there either.

I am a complete newbie at overclocking, but I would like to try it out, so a motherboard with nice/easy overclocking features would be nice as well.

The cheaper the better, but price isn't a huge issue. I will take all suggestions and downgrade in price if I need to, I am mostly just trying to get an idea of what the better motherboards are.

Thanks a lot!

bktanner

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2010
Thanks for the suggestion =).

Can you explain why you have suggested that board? Does it have a nice easy bios for overclocking? Will my SLI configuration be slowed down in any significant way due to running PCIe x8/x8 instead of both at x16?

Thanks for the help =).

Also anyone else with suggestions feel free to chime in.

8x/8x will only be a marginal loss than the 16x/16x config. So i wont say that you would have a great loss there. I would like to ask you about the budget of the mobo that you plan to buy.

I would also say the Asus Maximus III Formula as an option. Its $250.

bktanner

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2010
Price isn't a huge issue, I am just trying to get a feel for what the "good" motherboards are and what fits my need.

Thanks for the suggestions. I've skimmed some of the reviews of the ASUS P7P55D-E Pro, I was just curious why you guys were recommending it =D.

tecmo34

Administrator