Sign in with
Your question

Best MOBO for i5 build

Last response: in Systems
January 21, 2010 12:49:40 PM

Newbie here seeking advice.

I've been looking at the:

GIGABYTE GA-P55A-UD3 LGA 1156 Intel P55 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
SATA 3.0, USB 3.0, 3x USB power $134.99

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Which seem to my ignorant eyes to be a good choice or a new i5 build with usb 3 and sata 3 support.

I'm worried about a few things though:

It appears that usb 3 is compromised if two GPUs are used, not a big deal for me. I like to game but I'm not a fanatic, one nice GPU should be fine for me. But it's bothersome, seems like some sort of workaround.

Someone pointed out that some p55 boards might not be good for overclocking. I plan to mildly overclock the i5 (I'll leave Turbo Boost on and leave the voltage alone) by bumping the base clock to 160 MHz BCLK with a 3.2 GHz nominal speed and a Turbo Boost speed of 3.36 GHz for three or four cores and 3.8 GHz for one or two cores (as per the "Efficiency Explored" article here at Toms.)

Lastly, the MOBO has good comments at Newegg, but not a lot of them, not sure if this is because the board is new or if there is some other reason people are not using it.

PSU wise, I'm looking at the:

OCZ ModXStream Pro OCZ500MXSP 500W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply compatible with core i7 - Retail

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

But if someone can suggest a better fit, please do.

So I guess the basic question is - is there a better board I should be looking at? I like the idea of usb 3 and sata 3, but not so much as to pick a bad board.

And if a different MOBO is in order, what would be a good PSU for it.