$2000 - $3000 Gaming Computer - First Build Ever

Prime8

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2010
Hello everyone. Like many people who post, I am very new to all of this. I've spent the past week or so perusing these forums as well as other sites to try to become a bit more knowledgable in this stuff, but I still feel pretty clueless. I've looked at places that build custom rigs for you, then at the kinds of machines people on this forum have built, and the cost vs. performance difference has swayed me to step out of my comfort zone and try to build one instead of having some other guy do it for me.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: This is pretty open. At the latest, the end of May (after I get out of college). Since I don't need it right now, I've wondered if I should just wait until the summer starts to try to build this. I don't know if there's any new stuff coming out very soon that I should wait for.

BUDGET RANGE: $2000 - $3000. I'd prefer to stay somewhere in the middle there, but if I can get something that's phenomenal in the upper price range, then so be it

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming, Internet, Programming

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Keyboard, Mouse, Speakers. I have a TV that I'm currently using as a monitor, but if anyone can sell me on getting an actual monitor, I'll get it.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Whichever is the cheapest. I'm most familiar with newegg though

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: US

PARTS PREFERENCES: Intel processor, AMD graphics card

OVERCLOCKING: Maybe, if/when I know more about it SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Yes

MONITOR RESOLUTION: Again, I'm just using my 19" (I think that's the size) TV monitor currently, so if you have a really good monitor you think I should use instead, then please inform me