First attempt at i5-750 build

zerkulo31

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2010
This is my first draft of an i5 build I plan to get in the next couple of weeks. It's my first build in 4 years so hopefully I've got my head around all the new hardware and specs. Thanks to those who've helped so far.

I'm mostly unsure of which mobo to go with and I don't have a great selection of RAM from the site I use but buying all from this one site is too convienient as it's free delivery to a store close by and they build and test it for a pretty low fee.

So if there are any refinements that I should make please let me know :)

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: 2-3 Weeks
BUDGET RANGE: 1600AUD +/-
SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming, Net, Movies, infrequent video encoding
PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Keyboard, Mouse, Monitor, Speakers, OS
PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: http://ijk.com.au
COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: Australia
PARTS PREFERENCES: Intel i5-750 build
OVERCLOCKING: No
SLI OR CROSSFIRE: No
MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920x1080 or 1920x1200
ADDITIONAL COMMENTS:

CPU: Intel Core i5-750

MoBo: Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3P

RAM: PATRIOT PVV34G1333LLK 4G DDR3 1333 KIT 1.65v

GPU: XFX HD-585A-ZNFC Radeon HD 5850

PSU: Antec TruePower New TP-750

Cooler: CPU Cooler, Hyper 212+

HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB

DVD: Samsung SH-S223

Case: CoolerMaster RC-922M-KKN1-GP HAF 922

a4mula

Distinguished
Feb 3, 2009
Be aware that the current gen Gigabyte USB/SATA III boards are something of a compromise. If you use that feature your graphics pci-e bandwidth will be reduced from x16 to x8. If you attempt to crossfire/sli you lose your ability to also use the USB/SATA III.

I'd personally switch the HDD for a Samsung Spinpoint f3 1tb, or Seagate 7200.12 1tb. The older 320gb platters are much slower than the new 500gb platters. At the very very least snag a 500gb version of either of the two listed.