Your question

Phenom II x6 1055t issue

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Phenom
  • Overclocking
Last response: in Overclocking
September 9, 2012 11:05:53 PM

Hi guys. I am new to this so sorry if I have done something silly.

This is a post I have brought over from the components section, sorry, still finding my way around.

I have an AMD Phenom II X6 1055t 2.8GHz running on an Asus M5A78L LE with 2x 2GB DDR3 Crucial Ballistix Tracer RAM.

I have followed THIS guide on how to OC.

Within windows I see that I am at 3.71GHz using Core Temp & CPU-Z. When I try to use Cinebench, the temp goes up, obviously. When it hits 48 degrees C the CPU speed drops to 1.0GHz with the multiplier down to 4.0 from 14. Voltage @ 3.7 GHz is 1.452V and at 1.0GHz 1.320V. This is according to CPU-Z. I have not changed any voltages as the guide says there is no need.

When the temp goes down to 36 degrees, the speed shoots up again until 48 degrees is reached.

I have disabled quiet n cool & C1E support as the guide suggests. I have changed power options in control panel, I have tried while running game booster. I also downloaded something called K10Stat after a google search but don't really understand how to use it.

I have been sat here all night trying to figure it out and I am done :(  I would love it if someone could help.

Thanks a lot
Rich

More about : phenom 1055t issue

a c 78 à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
September 10, 2012 12:10:04 AM

What CPU cooler are you using?

It sounds like something is overheating and down-clocking. I have seen temp readings on different software MB combos be off by a lot but your temps would have to be off by about 15 degrees for this to be your CPU.

Try downloading HWmonitor and see what that gives you for temps. (HW monitor read my temps at ~10 degrees lower than actual, but I'm curious how its temps compare to core temp.

Next, your motherboard has a rather meek VRM section for the kind of power you are trying to pump out. 1.425v and 6 cores is a lot of juice.