Sign in with
Your question

I7 920 Build

Last response: in Systems
January 22, 2010 5:49:11 PM

I'm getting ready to order the parts for a new computer build. I just wanted to run it past you all since you are obviously quite knowledgeable about this stuff. I did a lot of research but I'm notoriously bad at computer hardware (I'm a developer). Any comments, suggestions or thumbs up would be greatly appreciated.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Next Few Days

BUDGET RANGE: Around $2000 (flexible)

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Development & Gaming

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: External Stuff

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Any (using newegg)

PARTS PREFERENCES: Intel I7

OVERCLOCKING: Most Likely

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Yes

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920x1200

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Just want something fast and good. At any given time I could be running SQL Server, Oracle, IIS, 11ty billion webpages and 3+ instances of visual studio in addition to left4dead or World of Warcraft.

This is the order to get it up and running. I will be doubling the memory, vid card (crossfire/sli) and getting a large data drive in the next couple weeks. Am I forgetting anything I need to get it running?

Case:
CoolerMaster Haf 922 Mid Tower
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

MoBo:
ASUS P6T Deluxe

CPU:
I7 920

PSU:
Corsair 850W

CPU Fan:
Dark Knight

System Drive:
Intel X25 160GB SSD

Memory:
6GB Corsair Dominator

Video Card:
Sapphire 1GB ATI 5770

More about : 920 build

January 22, 2010 6:06:10 PM

I'd consider a few changes:

HSF: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus Intel Core i5 & Intel Core i7 compatible RR-B10-212P-G1 120mm "heatpipe direct contact" Long life sleeve CPU Cooler. $30 for one of the top-rated coolers available.

RAM: G.SKILL PI Series 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL7T-6GBPI - Retail. $179.99. Dominators are overpriced, you can get a cheaper set with faster timings / lower CAS Latency.