No fans or lights or anything

Futurebababooey

Distinguished
Jun 15, 2009
I put together a new computer recently and when everything was assembled and it was time to power it up for the first time I got nothing. No lights (PSU, mobo, fan LED's), no fans (PSU, CPU, or case fans), not a thing happened. I have tried different power outlets as well.

This is my first build, so when things went wrong the first time I called the PSU tech support. They told me to see if the PSU worked by putting a paperclip in the green wire and a ground in the 20+4 pin connector and turn it on, and it powered on. Lights, case fans, started right up. They told me it wasn't the PSU so I called the mobo's tech support. They told me to take everything out of the case and put it on an insulated surface and try again with only the 20+4 pin, 8 pin, and CPU fan plugged in, and nothing turned on at all. So they told me to RMA it. I did, tried again, and nothing again. This time I tried to see if maybe it was the PSU by using a voltage meter to see what was being put out when I had it turned on with the paperclip in it, and when I touched any of the pins with the meter, the PSU would shut off. So tech support told me to RMA the PSU. I just got another PSU back from Newegg and plugged only the 3 things in again to try again, and nothing happened again. I'm completely out of ideas, and have no idea what could be wrong.

- Specs -
Links are to Newegg (Where I've purchased all parts)

CPU: Intel Core i5 750 (LGA 1156)
MOBO: MSI P55-GD65 LGA 1156 Intel P55 ATX Intel Motherboard
RAM: G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Dual Channel
CPU Cooler: Stock
Video Card: ATI - XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB
Power Supply: Rosewill RP600V2-S-SL 600W ATX12V v2.01
Hard drive: Western Digital Caviar Blue WD6400AAKS 640GB 7200 RPM
Operating System: Windows 7 (Not that I've gotten that far...)
Case: COOLER MASTER RC-690-KKN1-GP Black SECC/ ABS ATX Mid Tower
DVD: Sony Optiarc Black