Finding a Re-installation disc for Win XP Pro

stevethehunter

Honorable
Aug 26, 2012
Hello,

I have an old Compag Evo D51C CMT XP and it has a huge amount of viruses that cannot be removed with a virus protection software.

So I wanted to reinstall Windows XP on it, however we bought the computer through a third-party and we do not have the discs, nor can we get them. The "i386" folder is not on the hard drive, and pressing a certain key on boot-up does not work.

So to remove the virus, would purchasing a new copy of Windows XP be the best solution? If so, where can I purchase such a thing?

I really have no idea how to fix it. I've searched on the web and on this site before, but found no results for what I need.

Any help is appreciated, thank you!

Cheers
Steve

P.S. This is my first time posting on this site, if I posted in the wrong section, I apologize.

stevethehunter

Honorable
Aug 26, 2012

stevethehunter

Honorable
Aug 26, 2012
Yes, it's possible to run programs, however it's extremely slow and my anti-virus software is constantly popping up. Is CD Key the same as a Product Key?

Because there is a COA label on the outside of the machine with a Product key.

Cheers
Steve

What you want to do is use a second computer to recover your files.
Install the bad drive as a second drive on a working computer.
Use the good computer to recover the files, and back them up to a thumb drive.
Now, reformat the old drive entirely. Slow complete format.
Now, install Win 7 on the formatted drive. Put your backed up files on the new OS.

Don't bother with XP anymore. The longer you wait, the more problems you will have. It's not worth it.

Install a professional all in one antivirus. Don't use free security downloaded from the internet. OR have you learned that lesson yet?

stevethehunter

Honorable
Aug 26, 2012
Thanks for the reply soundguruman!