Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Few quick questions about a new system build

Last response: in Systems
January 23, 2010 4:14:43 PM

I'm about to build my first system. Few questions first though:

1. I have a 60 GB SSD to use as a boot drive. It says it came unformatted, when I go to install windows 7 on it does that automatically format it? (sorry if a dumb question i'm kinda new to this stuff)

2. I have windows 7 on my old computer which I'm not going to use at all anymore, can I legally use the same key and copy of windows 7 on my new system since I don't plan on using the old one?

3. I upgraded windows 7 from vista with the upgrade version? of it which was cheaper than the full version. On this new computer I'm assuming I have to install windows vista first and then windows 7 right afterwards? (would doing this take up more space on my SSD then if I just went out and bought the full windows 7 non-upgrade from previous os version?

4. I have the 60 GB SSD and a 1TB "regular" harddrive. Do I make the SSD drive c: and the 1TB hardrive (which is for games and storage space) d: ? or vice versa?

Thanks for any help!

Best solution

a b $ Windows 7
January 23, 2010 4:32:38 PM

1- Yes, when you start to install the OS, the installation process format the SSD automatically

2- Yes, is totally legal use the key.

3- Yes, you need install firts Vista and after this upgrade to Win 7

4- I would use the SSD for the OS. And the 1TB for storage and games.
January 23, 2010 6:04:34 PM

Best answer selected by presse1.
Related resources
February 12, 2010 1:35:09 PM

In a case where someone is running an SSD as my primary and a Terrabyte 7200 rpm as the data (backup) drive wouldn't the SSD be limited to the speed of the slower hd?

Or is that just in Raid 0?

Your help/answer is highly appreciated. Please advise. Thanks in advance.
a b $ Windows 7
February 12, 2010 1:47:44 PM

Hi CPJ and welcome to the Tom's hardware forum.