USB HDD Enclosure intermittently works

DamianWarS

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2012
I have been using a NDAS NetDisk ND-10 HDD enclosure for a few years now for various media related things and I have had no problems with it. It has a ST31000520AS Barracuda LP SATA 3Gb/s 1TB Hard Drive in it.

Well the other day I hooked it up to my computer, copied a movie then hook it into my BlueRay (via USB) and the BlueRay detects it but basically freezes if II try and access the HDD and the activity light on the USB enclosure is always on. Its has worked many times with the BlurRay with no problems before. So I hooked it back into my computer and now the same thing happens with my computer where a second ago it was perfectly fine. My computer (with Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit) installs the USB mass storage device with no problems, detects the HDD but if I try and do anything with it my computer will stop responding. So I hooked it up into another computer with Windows XP and the same thing happens, so I try a third one (with Windows 7) and again the same thing and I just can't get the HDD to work anymore. All during this time I am trying different USB ports and trying to unistall/install the USB drivers over again but nothing happens and the HDD activity light is always on. This HDD I can use over a network so I tried to hook it up that way and the network NDAS software detects it fine but eventually says the HDD is not responding and crashes. I also tried a linux live disc and it is no different than windows. I then removed the HDD from the enclosure and just hooked it up like a regular one and the HDD works perfectly fine and there isn't one problem. I put it back into the enclosure and again it has the constant activity light and freezing what it is plugged into.