Sign in with
Your question

860 running too hot?

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
January 23, 2010 10:55:03 PM

I am new to PCs and recently built a nice system (first time), but I'm not sure if it's running too hot when I stress it. This is the system:

i7 860 2.8
8gb cl7 ddr3 1600 ram
Sapphire 5770
1tb WD Black hd
Asus p7p55d deluxe mobo
Antec CP-580 psu
Antec p-183 case
DVD drive
wireless card
Win7 64bit

At the moment, I'm running Firefox and downloading a game from EA (Crysis). The Asus AI Suite tells me the CPU temp is 52c, but when I ran a benchmarking program, I think I saw temps of 98c at one point. It was definitely a spike and would usually settle back down to the 40-50c range.

Is this normal?

I was reading another thread on this and those people were saying that anything above 50 can be a problem...and that they all use coolers to keep their temps down in the 30c range.

I'm not new to computers, but new to PCs...so any help would be great!

Thanks,
Kuni

More about : 860 running hot

January 23, 2010 11:05:35 PM

I just ran Prime95 64 bit and my cpu temp shot up to 98c again. I shut it down and now it's down 57c.

Good/Bad?
m
l
January 23, 2010 11:10:31 PM

BAD

You probably seated your hsf incorrectly. Those symptoms indicate incorrect pressure of the heat sink to the top of the cpu.
Thats assuming that the fan is spinning. Did you plug in the cpu fan to the motherboard header.
The stock hsf had a thermal pad so that should not be a issue. One of the 4 push pins probably is not anchored on the back side of the m/b
m
l
Related resources
January 23, 2010 11:23:26 PM

fan is plugged in. Can I reseat the HSF? Do I need to remove the whole mobo to do that?
m
l
January 24, 2010 4:17:22 AM