tankaton01

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2010
First off, I'm no expert, so if I say something stupid, sorry xD

Alright, so a couple months ago out of nowhere my internet slowed down drastically. The only thing I can think of that I've changed lately was installing Windows 7, but I don't think they were at the same time. Did a trace route and found my ms to be about 900 on average. I contacted my ISP and did everything they told me (bypassed my router, power cycled about 11 times, etc..) but nothing helps. They've told me twice that there is a problem with the modem and they were going to fix it, but it only helped the lag for around 10 minutes, in which case the lag persists. When I bypass the router and connect directly to the modem, the lag is gone, so I know it is a problem with the router. I've already tried installing the latest firmware and reset the router to its original settings, but still doesn't fix it. Can it be fixed? Or would it be easier to just get a new router altogether?

Here's some info about my configuration:
I have comcast, and I'm hardwired to a Netgear wireless router, model WGR614 v9. There's two computers running off the router, both with the same problem. (Not sure if all of the was actually needed.)

Solution
How old is the router?

Possible someone is sapping your wireless?

The other computer isn't running a torrent program is it?

Have you tried a speedtest when this problem occurs? www.speakeasy.net and look at the bottom of the page for speed test. Just select the closet city. Record the numbers that appear at the bottom once the test has completed.

scaye

Distinguished
Sep 13, 2007
How old is the router?

Possible someone is sapping your wireless?

The other computer isn't running a torrent program is it?

Have you tried a speedtest when this problem occurs? www.speakeasy.net and look at the bottom of the page for speed test. Just select the closet city. Record the numbers that appear at the bottom once the test has completed.

Solution