Overclocking will this work?

rahel192

Honorable
Sep 15, 2012
Well i am new to this overclocking and such

Ive read that it gives benifits on the CPUs and the Dangers so i think it whould be ok to discuss this on this forum

So basicly this is my computer at the moment

AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Proccesor 4200+ (Unlocked)

4 GB`s of RAM (DRR2)

Windows Vista 32bit Home Premium

2 Fans attatched to the chassis

AsusTeK M3A Motherboard

The computer is custom built from a site

So will this be able to be overclocked to 2,5 Ghz?

Additional Information

According to the case "Cooler Master" is Printed on it, And inside the case the fan for the CPU is a cooler master

The Ones attatched to the chassis are from AMD

BIOS: American Megatrends Version 1001

The Voltage of the CPU is on 1.248V Most of the Time

2 Threads

Note( Information about the CPUs performace is from CPU-Z

Thanks in advance

sedativechunk

Honorable
Apr 24, 2012
Hello,
I will try to help you being an AMD person myself. My last two (actually three) desktops were AMD, also my last laptop is AMD. My current system is AMD. You are trying to use the AMD Athlon 64x2 unlocked. Great processor, but it's a little dated. Your motherboard and DDR2 RAM is also dated. But you can try to overclock it. First off, what are you trying to overclock for? You "read" it makes your CPU better. Are you an average/casual PC user? If you like the way your PC is, there is no need to get into the headache and frustration of overclocking. It's not easy and takes alot of trial and error, sometimes even to get just a CPU to 2.5Ghz.