Sign in with
Your question

Thought I would just ask for some advice on overclokcing

Last response: in Overclocking
September 17, 2012 5:28:29 PM

I have a sapphire Radeon 7850, I am using MSI Afterburner with MSI Kombustor. How do I use these tools properly? I understand to up the core clock 10MHZ a time, but don't understand how to use the Kombustor, will I be able to see the artifacts easily? Last time I tried to overclock, I whacked up the Core clock and memory up as far as they could go in offical overclocking, saw no artifacts for 5 minutes then got a BSOD, just wondering if anyone can give some advice as I am new to this.

Also last time before the BSOD I managed to get to around about 900mhz on the core.
a b U Graphics card
a b K Overclocking
September 17, 2012 5:59:10 PM

is anything else overclocked? i've personally never had a unstable GPU cause a blue screen for me

kombustor is bad with memory errors because it uses very little VRam, i'd suggest playing one of your most GPU intensive games
a c 251 U Graphics card
a c 138 K Overclocking
September 17, 2012 6:01:14 PM

Overclocking when done the right way ill give you a stable high performing video card (or cpu) and it won't afect the life of the part. The key thing with doing overclocking is to be patient and do the overclock in a slow tedious time consuming way which is the way it should be done.