Feedback on $1400 i5 gaming build

fr0gpunch

Distinguished
Jan 2, 2010
APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Hopefully tonight, maybe tomorrow.

BUDGET RANGE: About $1400 CAD maximum $1500, before shipping and taxes.

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Any Canadian site, preferably newegg.ca

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: Canada

OVERCLOCKING: I plan to OC in the future but I've never done it before so I need to do more research first.

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: I plan to add a second card later on when I feel that I need more power and the prices have dropped.

MONITOR RESOLUTION: Currenty using a 1280x1024 but will upgrade in a couple months or so to something better.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: This is my first ever build so I've done a TON of research and what I've ended up with is almost the exact same as tecmo34's gamer build from the Recommended Builds by Usage thread but there's still some things I'm not too sure about. First of all is the case, he recommends the HAF 922. It looks like a good case and it's what I'm going with now but I'd be willing to spend a little more on the case and I'm wondering if there's something that would be better for me? I'm mostly concerned with ease of building (since this is my first build), cooling and it needs to fit two 5850s.

The second thing I'm not sure about is the PSU, will 750w be enough to power the system when I have both 5850s in and maybe a second hard drive? And is it worth the money to get a modular PSU? I don't have any experience with cable management so I don't know how hard that will be. The modular version of the corsair 750w psu that I'm planning on is like $40 more :O.