Sign in with
Your question

How to Overclock New IVY Bridge Processor along with RAM???

Last response: in Overclocking
September 18, 2012 4:06:44 PM

Hi Guys,

I'm new to I Series processor overclocking.

I have Core 2 Duo CPU with 800MHz RAM, Which I used to over clock as Linked. I mean to if overclock CPU's FSB 800 to 900 along with RAM's 800MHz to 900(Without raising voltage), It automatically raises its clock speed. I was sure that i'm utilizing my overclocked CPU along with overclocked RAM. I mean, if i overclock my CPU's FSB without raising RAM's Frequency (or increase RAM's Frequency without raising CPU's FSB,,,I mean Unlinked), it does not deliver that kind of performance, when they are linked.

But in new I3/I5/I7 Series processes, FSB dose not exist(Recently Learned), Its replaced with BCLK. So now i can just set clock speed 35GHz to 4.4GHz without touching Memory's Frequency.

My Question Are:

1) I have IVY I7 3550K, Which supports 1600MHz RAM. So logically, Is it having 1600MHz FSB???

2) How should i overclock my I7 3770K processor to full utilize overclocked RAM??? or How can i overclock CPU along with RAM???

My Specs:
I7 3770K (Supports 1600MHz Memory)
Maximus V Gene
Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600MHz (9-9-9-24)
Seagate 2TB HDD
Corsair 500R Case
TX 650 V2 PSU
Stock Cooling
a c 218 à CPUs
a c 138 K Overclocking
September 18, 2012 4:52:03 PM

The overclocking does depend on your motherboards options and the more options in there the better , Asus boards are pretty good for the selection of options to overclock. One thing you can try right away untll you get more familiar with the new cpu and motherboard is the preset overclock.