Sign in with
Your question

Faulty PSU? Ultra 750W

Last response: in Components
April 1, 2010 11:47:18 AM

Hi all,

I am wondering if my PSU is faulty. I did a quick search to look for similar posts but did not come up with anything that matches mine question.

80% of the time it works great, never shuts down on me, but occasionally when I go to turn the PC on, the system and fans spool up for a little less than one second then shuts off. The power button on the case doesn't respond. I turn the power switch on the PSU on an off, unplug everything, plug back in, flip the switch a few times and in between try the PC on switch again. So far after doing these several times, it will start up, but seems to take a different process each time so I can't narrow it down. This is the first PC ive built so I am still learning to trouble shoot. Is the PSU just faulty you think? It was an open box deal and like I said its very reliable when its running.

Thanks for any input,

More about : faulty psu ultra 750w

a c 243 ) Power supply
April 1, 2010 12:14:45 PM

puntacana1 said:
It was an open box deal and like I said its very reliable when its running.

An "Open Box" buy on a psu isn't a good idea to begin with.
" Very reliable when it's running ", means it's not reliable.

April 1, 2010 12:40:28 PM

delluser1 said:
An "Open Box" buy on a psu isn't a good idea to begin with.
" Very reliable when it's running ", means it's not reliable.

Thanks, but open box or not, I was hoping to gain some insight on trouble shooting, trying to pinpoint the problem. If this is the worst I have to put up with the PSU, then it still still a good investment as I paid less than half the list price :D 

Any ideas where to look?
Related resources
a c 248 ) Power supply
April 1, 2010 3:12:15 PM

Is the power supply still under warranty? If so, then you could have it replaced with a brand new power supply.