Overclocking the i2 E8200 2,66Ghz

ferdyy

Honorable
Sep 7, 2012
Hello, first off, I have ZERO experience overclocking
I am aware that this CPU is REALLY old

When I google it I find most people to OC it to 3,6 Ghz.

However, I have ZERO experience and I'm on the stock cooler.

Could anybody link me a proper guide on how to OC and give me suggestions on to how far my CPU can go, I don't want to over do it. I don't want to buy something for it either because I'm buying a new CPU/MB in the future.

Thanks

My specs:
Corsair Builder CX430W
Gigabyte GV-R777OC-1GD 2.0
Intel core 2 duo E8200 @ 2.66GHZ
Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. EP35-DS3 (Socket 775) Motherboard
4GB RAM DDR2
1280x1024 Resolution
Windows 7 64 bit

drums101

Distinguished
lol its not I2 its core 2 duo.....and for overclocking you should try and figure out what your cpu voltage is (use cpuz or core temp to tell you what your VID is) then go into the BIOS and set the cpu core voltage to that number and unlink your ram from the FSB....then slowly increase your FSB up to make the cpu faster and then test it using prime95....do little bits at a time dont jump up 500mhz at a time...raise the FSB little bits at time until it becomes unstable then bump up the vcore a little bit...keep doing this until you get to your desired speed.

ferdyy

Honorable
Sep 7, 2012

Edited it, can't change thread name though.

Why am I supposed to unlink my ram from the FSB (I honestly don't have a clue what FSB is but ok)?
Also do you mean my core voltage?
It keeps going up and down but the lowest is 1.120v and highest is 1.184v, so I'm not sure what I'm supposed to set it to

drums101

Distinguished