High End HTPC

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
January 26, 2010 6:40:08 PM

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this forum and this is my first post, so please excuse any protocol violations.

I work in IT but I don't have intimate knowledge of building PC's or troubleshooting. I am pretty comfortable with opening up a PC and replacing components and with installing software, configuring a router / AP, etc. I have put together hardware before on the job but it was a while ago.

Note: if the questions about watching on other TV's complicates things, then please ignore.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: I'm ready to go. I've been wanting to do this for a couple of years now
BUDGET RANGE: Open. I would like a high end system that can grow and won't be obsolete soon. Of course, I don't want to waste money.

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT:

This HTPC will be used in our TV room with a 58" Samsung 860 series plasma.
Ideally I would like to use an extender, or something like that, to play contents on a couple of other HD TVs in the house
I would like to use it to replace my cable providers DVR. My provider is Cox. I don't have any premium channels such as HBO or Showtime, but I would like to watch and record channels such as speed, history, etc.
I would like to be able to play blu-ray dvd's;
I would like to be able to play standard dvd's;
I have a netflix subscription so I would like to be able to watch movies on the fly
I would like to be able to watch Hulu content
I would like to also hold my MP3 music collection; or I would like to be able to access the music from a central server
I would like to store my pictures on this machine and view the pics on the TV; or I would like to be able to access my pictures from a central server.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: TV / Monitor, speakers

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: I have no preferences
COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: USA