Sign in with
Your question

Building High end system

Last response: in Systems
January 27, 2010 5:14:03 AM

Hi

I would like to build a fairly high end system to render my insanely huge files.
combined budget $10 000. (i have a partner).
I'm not a very hardware technical person so I need some help.

Overview:
I'm a professional photographer and are currently doing large scale panoramic images. One very large image will consist of 2000+ , 21megapixel images, the resulting image will be at least 20 000 megapixels +. (20gigpaixels)
This has been done before rendering on a server board with 2 xeon processors, 8 gigs ram - specs unknown - rendering time took 48hrs. The files were only 12mp each and the resulting file was 96gigs at 13 gigapixels. I estimate my file will be 200gigs +
The rig should be damn stable as this huge file needs to be edited in Photoshop CS4 afterwards.
I don't want an overclocked system, it should be as stable as possible.

Hardware i'm looking at:

I'm currently looking at a Gigabyte server board - GA-7TEWH (1.0) - http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/Networking/Products...
I will go for 2 Intel Xeon X5570 processors http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=37111&processor=X5...
For memory, I will go with Corsair DOMINATOR, 24GB kits x 2 - 48gigs
Solid state drives I think will be a must but will push up the overall price quite a bit.. will consider
I can add several 2 TB drives in Raid 0 config as I have a few drives already.
For graphics I would like a Quadro FX 5600 but will have to look at my budget options again :-(
I will get whatever power supply that will be needed included extra cooling.. options?
I will be running Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

What I need to know:
Am I looking at the right specs for my task at hand?
Motherboard is probaly the most important so I am open for better suggestions..
also, this gigabyte board only supports Sata 2. Is there a server board that supports Sata 3 with Raid 0? that will be the way to go.