Sign in with
Your question

My First Build $1,000 to $1,200

Last response: in Systems
January 27, 2010 3:06:03 PM

For several years now I've relied upon a somewhat sluggish, though not totally unreliable emachine; however, my patience has its limits. Too many hours have been spent listening to the device whir and grind as it struggles to open Word or Firefox. Instead of picking one up at the store again, I've decided to try my luck at assembling my own. Since I'm a novice at this, I've decided to ask you more capable strangers for help. I'd appreciate it you'd please have a look at what I've got so far and point out any glaring flaws or potential improvements. Thank you.

Approximate Purchase Date: Late-February to April 2010

System Usage: Gaming, Internet, School Work (a.k.a. Microsoft Office) Encoding Video (converting my DVD/Blu-Ray collection to .mp4/.mkv), Watching Movies/Listening to Music, and Maybe Some Basic Photoshop Use

Parts Not Required: OS (Windows 7 Ultimate x64), keyboard, mouse, monitor, and speakers

Preferred Vendors: Newegg or another trustworthy site provided they offer a better deal

Overclocking: Most likely

CrossFire: Maybe later

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080

These are the components I'm thinking of going with.

Case

Antec P183

I'll be sleeping next to this thing, so low light and sound pollution is important. Also, it should allow for some room to grow and will hopefully last me for a few builds. Bonus points for having the same color scheme as my parents' refrigerator.

CPU

AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb

or

AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb

Would the additional 200Mhz be worth the $30 price increase? The consensus seems to be "no," but would the 965 have a potentially higher operating frequency should I choose to overclock it in the future? Also, I've read that the Intel Core i7-920 Bloomfield is the superior processor, but would the performance boost justify the $100-120 jump in price?

Motherboard