Sign in with
Your question

(possibly) building first computer ever -- for gaming

Last response: in Systems
January 27, 2010 5:00:43 PM

My deal: I've been gaming here and there on a laptop for a few years now and I want to graduate to an actual desktop (my last one is from the 90s). My computer needs are primary the simple stuff, a website, some mild media stuff, and writing (which I do for a living), plus games at modest resolutions and settings. But one day I went to a buddies house who just got a new rig and I saw Crysis in action and the bug bit me: I wanna be able to do that too.

So plunging into the world of e-research I find pretty much every community torn about constitutes a reasonable pre-built computer and most people just saying build it yourself. Me? I'm in no way handy: even my Ikea creations tend to come out wrong. But I am still intrigued by the idea that I can get a better machine, for less. And, as I said, I'd like to play Crysis (as well as Fallout 3, Starcraft 2 -- whenever that is -- LFD2, and so forth. And oh yeah, Crysis 2!).

Some gamer friends have suggested for a first computer just buying a pre-built, like a Dell Studio XPS, and upgrading over time. I've looked at Alienware, Falcon NW, and iBuypower, and after a while I just start getting dizzy: who's selling the quality product? What's a ripoff? Ahhhh!

As I stated, I am a TOTAL NOOB. I have been reading here and there about how to build a computer, and some people say it's as simple as Legos, and other times it looks, literally, like rocket science to me. Hey, I'm being honest here.