Sign in with
Your question
Solved

I5 or i7 930

Last response: in CPUs
April 3, 2010 5:57:41 AM

Hello,
I'm putting a new system together and I haven't done this in a long time. I'm a photographer use Lightroom and Photoshop cs4 for working with large images sometimes 100mb or more. Was wondering what would be a good option i5 750, i5 650 or go with the i7 930?
I went to a shop today to get some ideas and had the i5 650 in mind but then was told about the i7's triple channel memory? What is this and would this help in photoshop, lightroom and by how much?
It's been a long time since I built a pc so any help here is appreciated. The savings are a couple of hundred dollars and seeing as this is an emergency (notebook died yesterday arrrr!) any savings are good but not absolute.
Thank you for your help.

More about : 930

a b à CPUs
April 3, 2010 7:16:31 AM

Well, the Core i7 is good for programs which can use HyperThreading, but IIRC, Photoshop, and probably Lightroom as well, only benefits from extra real cores, not threads. Thus the Core i5 750 should perform around the same - because the i7 930 and i5 750 Turbo Boost to the same frequency. (The Core i5 750 beat the i7 920 by 3 seconds in a test which involved adding 15 different layers on a 109MB .jpeg image, and the i7 930 is 133MHz faster.) The performance difference between triple channel and dual channel isn't very noticeable, and really I'd just get the i5 750. 4GB should be more than sufficient for Photoshop work.
m
l
a b à CPUs
April 3, 2010 7:19:16 AM

Definitely go for the quads such as i5 750 or i7 930.

But what is your budget?

The i7s have hyper threading, and the 1366-i7s triple channel RAM do help in certain scenarios.

The difference will depend on the application - whether it prefers higher clock speed, more cores, memory, etc

Benchmarks:
i5 750 vs i5 650
http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/109?vs=144
m
l
Related resources
April 3, 2010 1:15:05 PM