Sign in with
Your question

What fittings would I need?

Last response: in Overclocking
September 24, 2012 10:40:02 PM

So I am going to install my first water cooling system in a PC. I am keeping it pretty simple since it is my first attempt.
The part list is as follows (the products are hyper-linked in case you can not tell):
MCRES Micro Rev2 Reservoir
MCP655-B Pump
MCRx20-XP "eXtreme Performance" Radiator Series (Tripple 120mm Version)
Apogee HD CPU Waterblock
3/4" Vinyl Tubing
Fill-port fittings (panel mount) with 1/2" barb
Remote fill-port fitting for MCRes Micro (Rev2)
Swiftech suggested the two fitting listed above for better performance than those included with the Apogee HD Waterblock.

My question is "Do I need any other fittings or adapters to connect the 3/4" tubing to the waterblock, radiator, and/or reservoir."

Also, is this a decent watercooling setup?

More about : fittings

September 25, 2012 12:54:27 AM

Oh yeah, and Swiftech only has green coolant, but I am looking for a blue coolant. Any suggestion?
m
l
a b K Overclocking
September 25, 2012 1:06:14 AM

Don't buy coolant if it isn't mayhem's, anything else tends to gunk up your system pretty bad in the long run. As for tubing, get durelene or Masterkleer its cheap and doesn't seem to leech plasticizer as badly as other brands. As for your fittings you're going to need 2 fittings for each component of the loop. I'd reccomend bitspower fittings though they're pricey they're worth it. Make sure you match up the ID and OD on your fittings to your tubing.
As for whether or not this is a good loop it's borderline overkill for just a CPU :p  so you should be fine.
m
l
Related resources
a c 150 K Overclocking
September 25, 2012 2:00:04 AM

Colored tubing, distilled water, and a kill coil!
Is there any reason why everything is swiftech!?
m
l
September 25, 2012 2:32:59 AM

scopey86 said: