Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Newbie....flash, bios update?

Last response: in Motherboards
August 29, 2010 2:53:51 PM

Hello,

I am new to building and have purchased a P6X58D. Everything went great, got a 930 installed and a 5770, Win7 64.

The question I have is about the disk that came with the board and the bios stuff.

I tried to do this bios thing through the internet and nothing happened, said there was no applicable bios for me. Does that sound right?

The only other thing I saw on the disk to load were I believe 'chipset' drivers? I did those.

Part of questions is this: I have read that flashing bios, may not be the same as updating the bios, and eitherway, it may not be necessary to do either unless one is having a proble. Are they the same thing and do I need to worry about either if everything is running smooth.

The other question I have is about this CMOS. I see several threads where folks talk about resetting CMOS, cleaning CMOS etc. This too I have seen as leave well enough alone if everything is work fine.

When does on do these things, and is there a link(s) discussing them? and should I even do any of this if my system is running ok now.

Best solution

a b V Motherboard
August 29, 2010 3:42:02 PM

Flashing the BIOS (same as Updating the BIOS) is sometimes risky (If the system loses power during the Flash process the MOBO will no longer function at all and can not be recovered resulting in a dead MOBO) - so this process is usually not done unless you have to (for example if you are using a newer CPU and the MOBO bios needs an update to recognize the CPU and operate at the correct settings (It can still run usually but may not be optimal performance if it does not have the proper microcode for that CPU)) - If all is working well and the BIOS lists the CPU correctly then no need to do this unless there is a specific problem you are having that the maker has released a ne version of the BIOS to correct.