Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Comments on first time build

Last response: in Systems
January 29, 2010 1:34:25 PM

This is my first build and I have mostly decided on it but wanted some comments in case of any mistakes/omissions/balancing issues or anything else
For Browsing internet and watching movies with some gaming, hope it will last me a long time

Over clocking a bit, no crossfire

keyboard, mouse, monitor & speakers not needed case still to be decided later
build in Australia prices in AU$
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CPU: Phenom 2 955 $192
MOBO: G-B MA770T-UD3 $93
GCU: 1 GB ATI-5770 HIS $189
HDD: WD SATA 808 GB $75
RAM: 2x2GB DDR3 1333 G-Skill-NT $126
PSU: Antec EarthWatts 650W $117

Is the power supply good for my system? If i overclock cpu to maybe 3.6 Ghz do I need new heat sink ?

Thanks for any help
:hello: 

More about : comments time build

Best solution

a c 84 B Homebuilt system
January 29, 2010 1:41:52 PM

That's a good PSU. It'll be more than enough.

You will need an aftermarket HSF for overclocking. I highly recommend the Coolermaster Hyper 212.

Some other comments:

HDD: 808 GB? Never seen that before... Regardless, I highly recommend getting a Samsung Spinpoint F3 1 TB. It's the fastest drive out there, and one of the cheapest/GB.

Case: Take a look at the HAF 922. If that's out of your budget, look into the Antec 900, Coolermaster 690, Antec 300 Illusion, Antec 300 or Coolermaster Elite.
January 29, 2010 11:20:50 PM

I think I might get the Lancool case, the K58. Good choice ?

With the Samsung F3 1tb, is there any reliability issues? A few stores around my area said they dont have Samsungs because of reliability issues.
m
l
Related resources
a b B Homebuilt system
January 30, 2010 12:58:31 AM