Your question

Help a Newbie Overclock, Any help Greatly Appreciated

Tags:
  • Asus
  • Overclocking
Last response: in Overclocking
September 28, 2012 6:16:45 PM

Hi guys,

Ill start of by saying sorry (im a newbie).

Last week I build my first PC, and surprising it went well. Now, I want to get the best performance out of my PC by O.C. it but I would like it to be a sensible O.C. and not unstable.

My build

CPU - AMD Bulldozer FX-4100
RAM - Corsair 8GB 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 Vengeance
Motherboard - Asus M5A97
Graphics - Asus nVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti Graphics Card

1. My RAM says 1600MHz but only runs at 1333MHz any ideas on how to get this to the 1600MHz as sold?
2. I have been to the BIOS and hit the Asus O.C. button and my CPU is now 3900MHz (this seems good) but is it safe?
3. Is the Asus Auto O.C any good and stable?
3. Any other general tips for safe over clocking?

Sorry to be such a pain but i realize that other know much more than me and would be very greatful of any help!

More about : newbie overclock greatly appreciated

September 28, 2012 7:04:37 PM

Hello,
Congrats on building your first PC, I hope it kicks some ass for whatever you are using it for! Now for the overclocking, you've come to the right place! I have a similar build but with a AMD x6 1045t and a Gigabyte motherboard. It's not exactly the same as the FX but they are VERY similar, feel free to check out this tutorial on my website on how I overclocked mine:
http://eddieboot.com/amd-1045t-overclock-guide/

I tell what I set the voltage, RAM to, and etc. It's on the AMD FX but they are very similar CPUs. As far as your RAM speed problem goes, where did you see the 1333Mhz at, is it on your motherboard? I found the manual for your motherboard online and it supports some of the highest speed RAM you can buy. But there is something interesting stated on Asus's website for the RAM:
Quote: