Using multiple SATA connections to avoid usb

palitorj

Distinguished
Jan 28, 2012
I have a XPS/Dimension 400/9150 and have had trouble with two drives when using internal drives externally via usb. System starts to not recognize drive and eventually doesn't recognize ntfs formattng. I have a second internal drive and have never had this problem.
The motherboard has four internal SATA connectors and I'm already using one for a second internal drive.

Question is:Can I use another one of those SATA connectors for a third "internal" drive. If that is OK the stupid question is what do you power the drive with since there are no more connectors on my internal power cable.

I'm a photographer with back-up problems. Want a system drive and two swappable drives for redundant storage without this problem of faulty usb connections or whatever it is.

Thanks
Pat

Solution
Are you sure there are nothing wrong with the drives? I'd be worried that the PC works fine but the drives (or USB enclosers) are failing.

If everything checks out then yes you can put it inside assuming you have a spot to mount the drive. If you don't have anymore SATA power plugs you can get a "molex" to SATA adapter.

Edit: Forgot to mention that Dell actually has some of the best OEM PSUs. Their 305 and 350W PSUs were near legendary. I wouldn't worry about adding one more hdd to it. (more so if your external drive was plugged in via USB and didn't have its own power brick.)

4745454b

Titan
Are you sure there are nothing wrong with the drives? I'd be worried that the PC works fine but the drives (or USB enclosers) are failing.

If everything checks out then yes you can put it inside assuming you have a spot to mount the drive. If you don't have anymore SATA power plugs you can get a "molex" to SATA adapter.