Your question

Overclocking my i5 3570k

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Overclocking
  • Intel i5
Last response: in Overclocking
October 1, 2012 3:14:44 AM

I just got all my parts today and spent a few hours building my PC.

I have an i5 3570k and a UD3H motherboard. This is my first time overclocking. My cooler is a Zalman 9900.

So I watched a few videos on overclocking the i5 3570k and tried overclocking.

Pretty much all I died was turn the turbo multiplier to 45 on all cores and left everything else at auto.

Are these temps good? Should I reduce the multiplier at all?

How long should I run the stress test for?

More about : overclocking 3570k

a c 186 à CPUs
a c 150 K Overclocking
October 1, 2012 3:28:39 AM

That voltage is WAY TOO HIGH!
m
l
October 1, 2012 3:35:38 AM

It's set to auto, so I'm assuming it adjusts it to what it needs to be, but I did see most people have around 1.25v.

Should I then manually adjust the voltage? What should I set it to?
m
l
Related resources
a b à CPUs
October 1, 2012 3:37:46 AM

Ease up mate! Start at 4.2. Use Normal and not Auto which always overvolts. Tweak the offset incrementally to get stability and then increase the clock. Repeat. You should get to 4.5 no problem. Nice and steady OK? Download prime95 and core temp. They along with cpu-z are your friends.
m
l
October 1, 2012 3:40:44 AM

So how exactly do I go about doing this?

Which voltages do I change?

Should I OC using the turbo multipliers?

Step by step process would be appreciated.
m
l
October 1, 2012 3:50:31 AM

that Vcore should only be 1.25-1.3 and also ease up to it don't go from 3.4 to 4.5 (snap)just like that go up .1 at a time until you reach what you think is stable
m
l
a b à CPUs
October 1, 2012 3:50:56 AM

There are many many tutorials on the internet and soem great ones right here in this forum. My process is:

Set frequency of 4-core turbo to 4.2, and 3 core to 4.3, 2 core to 4.4 and 1 core to 4.5

Set Voltage method to Normal (not Auto or manual)