Sign in with
Your question

May Build, need insight

Last response: in Systems
January 30, 2010 5:52:34 PM

Hello,

I'm planning a new system build for May, something I couldn't do last year due to unexpected job-related financial reasons. With a new job comes new possibilities. I'm selecting high-end components for now, because every time I've built a PC in the past, I had to make certain compromises. In having a financial stability I haven't had in the past, I hope to build at least one system that I can be proud of (kind of a personal thing, versus logical common sense). First I'll go over what I plan on using the system for, then I'll overview the components I've selected.

I'm a hobbyist programmer interested in automated program design, in short, I write programs that write programs. I want to start a new section of research that's always been beyond my capacity due to not being able to get a hold of the most recent hardware; in order to stay up to date on the programming end, your hardware needs to be pretty decent, too. As a point of reference: I cannot even play half-life on my current system.

I code in Visual C#, which means my best bet for code will be XNA 3.1 with the .NET Framework version 3.5. While this in and of itself means I'll have to be careful on the code end of things (since managed architectures are slower), it should still allow me to utilize enough graphical capacity to learn the ropes of 3D games programming.

Here are the components as I've selected so far, mind you I hope to actually be able to play a game on my system, so it's not all just research:
Case            :   $369.99 - LIAN LI PC-P80 Black Aluminum ATX
                              Full Tower Computer Case
Motherboard     :   $449.99 - ASUS P6T7 WS Supercomputer "Ultimate 
                              Gamer" choose 3Way SLI + PhysX at 
                              Real X16 X58 CEB Intel Motherboard
Video Cards     : $1,169.97 - 3x Galaxy 85TGF1HU1QUZ GeForce GTX 285 1GB