Failed overclock for the first time. Have i damaged my cpu?

kebbz

Honorable
Jul 27, 2012
Hey guys.
First off, im doin this on a notebook. Specs as follows:

AMD A8-3500m QUAD CORE APU 1.5ghz (Stock) 2.4 (Turbo core).
AMD 6640g2.

Been overclocking it for quite a while now using K10stat.
So, i've been doin alot of experiments on this processor. Best stable clock i got was 2.4ghz with stock voltage.

One day, i was lookin on youtube and saw that some people were able to reach 3GHZ of the Dual Core version APUs.

So, i went and took the risk. Overclocked it to 3ghz flat. With voltages of 1.3000v. (Stock is 1.3125)

Ran intel Burn Test and my notebook shut down after the 2nd run of the test when temps reached 100C.

Now i regretted doin it. My question is, is it the end? :O Like, is a first shutdown due to overclocking harmful for a cpu?? I'd never go past 3ghz again.

Is my cpu still safe? Or am i overreacting?

PS: im not really good at these kinds of stuff.

Solution
Meh, I doubt your CPU is damaged 'yet' (You said it boots and seems to work fine, did you do a burn in test afterwards at stock volts/Frequency?), but next time you do a burn-in, shut the bastard down when it hits 95+ lol. Apparently, 100c is the listed max operating temp for your APU so don't be too worried (Be worried if the proc doesn't pass a burn-in test at stock voltages/freq though) It takes quite alot to fry that APU when the voltages are at that level btw, (You didn't surpass it's rated voltages, so smart move on your part!) It actually sounds like the APU(Or a motherboard based setting) saved itself via auto-shutdown once it hit/surpassed the 100c limit. Now if that cpu of yours was one of the significantly older model AMD...

HartTheDeer

Honorable
Sep 29, 2012
it can be....just hope your computer shut itself down because of the heat. Run furmark without overclocking and look for artifacts. You might just be ok and dodged a bullet.

HartTheDeer

Honorable
Sep 29, 2012