Lian Li K62 Fans

bahrieinn

Distinguished
Mar 14, 2010
Hi everyone,

I just put together my system last week in the Lian Li K62 case. I really love the looks and ease of use of the case, but I was wondering about what people thought of the sound levels of the stock fans. As this is my first build, I don't really have any relative sense (nothing to compare to) of whether they are considered loud or not. (I'm guessing they're probably not bad in that they don't emit any high pitched noises, only "airflow" noise mostly)

So basically, what do you guys think of the stock fans on this case? And have any of you modified it for quieter results, if so any suggestions? Also do you guys know the approximate CFM of the stock 140mm's and the 120mm in the back? Because if I'm looking for other fans to use, I want to try to retain approximately the same CFM (maybe a little less) if they can be considerably quieter.

Thanks!

Well what you can do is control the speeds of the fans atleast the ones connected to the motherboard with speedfan. If you say its just airflow noise that you here then getting new fans will not be any quieter at the same CFM rating what you need to do is just slow some of those fans down either with speedfan or buy a drive bay fan controller like THIS.

I have the Dragon Lord K-60. It has the same stock fans as yours. The noise the fans make is at a lower frequency so it is not as noticeable. Part of the reason for that is the three 140mm fans run at a lower rpm yet the cfm is still equal to higher rpm 120mm case fans. Ventilation, airflow, and cooling are excellent.

I have made only one change. I added a Coolermaster 4-in-3 bay device with a 1200 rpm fan. I installed it in three empty 5.25in exterior drive bays just above the bottom front case fan. I did to balance the intake and exhaust a little bit.

Stock Cooling Fans:

System Fan (Front) 140mm Fan x 1 (1000RPM)
System Fans (Top) 140mm Fan x 2 (1000RPM)
System Fan (Rear) 120mm Fan x 1 (1500RPM)