I'm new here and have a questions. Here is my setup

I7 920 Processor
Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
OCZ PC3-12800 Obsidian 6GB Triple Channel Kit DDR3 Ram
BFG Nvidia GTS 250 Vidoe Card
Antec True Power 750 W PSU
1 TB Hitachi HD
Antec Twelve Hundred Case

For some reason, using Window 7 64-bit or Windows XP, I can not connect to the Internet. i have verified my Internet works the way it should with my laptop, but not with the Desktop. I have tried Window 7, Vista & XP drivers and nothing seems to work. I am a Network Administrator and have never encountered a problem like this . In looking at the Nic Card in the control panel it seems that data is being sent but not received. To be a little more descriptive, I can ping the loopback 127.0.0.1 and the Microsoft provide address 169.x.x.x, but the computer does not get assigned a DHCP IP. If I statically assign an ip, I can get to my comcast modem interface (GUI) but no other site. I can not even ping 4.2.2.2. I also tried two of the same motherboard (to eliminate the Onboard Nic having a HW problem) and it still does not work. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
January 31, 2010 5:35:04 AM

Have you tried directly connecting the desktop to the modem, bypassing the router?
m
l
January 31, 2010 6:46:02 AM

skora said:
Have you tried directly connecting the desktop to the modem, bypassing the router?

Yes, that is the way I have been doing it but The modem is not provide the PC with a IP address. The Lan connection just says no internet access.
m
l
Related resources
January 31, 2010 7:04:20 AM

I know when I replaced my router recently, I had the same issue where it said partial but unusable connectivity. It wasn't until I plugged in comcast.net to the host name and the mac addy of router before I had any type of throughput.

I'm sure your more versed in the subject matter than I. This was what fixed my hiccup of similar nature.
m
l
January 31, 2010 2:16:29 PM

skora said: