X2 550 BE Unlock - Strange Stability Issues

vincerhodes

Distinguished
Aug 24, 2009
So I've been reading loads on this and have tried unlocking my 550, I'm new to core unlocking and overclocking but I've done a lot of reading and a lot of testing and my theory is that I have 'uncovered' either an issue with my RAM that I didn't know about or an issues with the MB but I want to confirm before going out and buying components.
So I unlocked to 4 cores and can get the system to boot to windows with the RAM running at it's rated 1333 7-7-7-20 with 1.8v. I don't have to change any of the core settings and all seems stable to boot up.
I run prime small FFT and it seems to be able to run all day - blend causes almost immediate crash.
If I run windows for a while it will freeze/crash too.
So I play around with settings for days trying to get it stable, can't get it stable
Next I lock down the cores again, back to 2 cores with standard settings, run prime small FFT no probs again but blend immediately crashes still.
So from what I've read on the internet the fact I can boot into windows no probs and run small FFT all day says my unlocked cores should be ok, not only that but blend crashes my pc with cores locked or unlocked the same shows (or strongly hints) that the issue is with my memory. I've tried different ram settings, relaxed timings etc but it still immediately crashes on blend. It's definitely more stable on 2 cores and I can play games, use my computer for days like this but blend = immediate crash...

So my question is what is or could be causing the instability in my system, specs below

400Mb corsair PSU
HD 7850
X2 550 BE
4Gb OCZ 1333Mhz 7-7-7-12 1.8v DDR3
2 x 1Tb Seagate HDD
1 x 512Mb Seagate HDD
DVD RW
Some USB stuff